Pattarawut Prompat, Painter and Tattoo Artist, Saladan

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I meet him painting in Saladan on the island of Kolanta. He is sharing the studio with his brother.

Pattarawut Prompat had to fight for his dream since his childhood: Becoming an artist. No, it was not at all easy for the today 40 year old. Born in Suratthani on Thailand’s east coast he wanted to attend art school but his parents were against his wish. So he ended up in a job as a car mechanic. „My parents were against my long hair and my tattoos, but they were happy when I studied car engineering.“KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

After some years the forced education was just too much for him: Unhappy with his life at all he became drug addicted. Again the parents tried to save him and put him in a monastery in Suratthani. „For 3 years I was living there as a monk“, he says. „And in those years with the monks I got back my balance, I got down to earth.“KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

After finishing the 3 years at the monastery he knew what to do: Following his inner voice of becoming an artist. During the next 3 years he worked at day in all kind of jobs. The money he earned he invested in his education at art school every night. He intensified painting and tattoo art. He lived in Laos, Vietnam and at the islands of Kosamui and Kophangan. „But there were to much party life, what distracted me“, he admits.KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally he came to the island of Kolanta at the west coast of Thailand. „I was looking for inspiration and here I got it.“ Nowadays he lives in Saladan already for 4 years. In the future he likes to have his own gallery in Northern Thailand. Just another new beginning.KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Ein Gedanke zu „Pattarawut Prompat, Painter and Tattoo Artist, Saladan

Kommentar verfassen

